As a Florida resident, you’ve probably heard the phrase, “no-fault state” before.
But, do you know what it means and how it would affect you if you were involved in a car accident?
As a Tampa personal injury law firm, one of our goals, beyond helping our clients through some of the toughest moments in their lives, is providing educational resources that detail the basics of personal injury law.
In this blog post, we dig into the details of no-fault insurance in Florida.
What is No-Fault Insurance?
When you hear the term, “no-fault” used in Florida, it means that if there’s a car accident, both drivers involved will turn to their own insurance companies to file claims to pay for some of the medical bills, regardless of who’s at fault. PIP kind of acts like health insurance but for treatment related to an auto accident case.
To cover these situations, Florida drivers are required to have a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Insurance (PIP) included in their car insurance policy.
However, just because some of your medical expenses will likely be covered by PIP insurance doesn’t mean you should take the crash lightly.
In the event of a car accident, it’s good practice to keep a record of it by:
- Writing down the driver’s name, license number, and insurance information
- Taking pictures of the accident
- Recording the series of events from your perspective while the details are fresh
- Making note of any injuries sustained to you and/or the passengers in your vehicle
- Obtaining copies of police reports
How Does No-Fault Insurance Work in Florida?
No-fault laws are in place to make it easier for anyone injured in a car accident to seek and obtain medical treatment for their injuries.
But, much like with any form of insurance, there are stipulations.
When it comes to PIP insurance, in particular, medical expenses up to a certain amount will be paid. Meaning, that if your injuries exceed these limits, they’ll meet what’s known as the “injury threshold” in which case the person will likely want to file a personal injury claim against the other driver in the accident.
What Does No-Fault Insurance Cover?
In the event of a car accident in Florida, PIP insurance covers:
- Health insurance deductibles
- Lost wages if the injury prevents the driver and/or passenger from working
- Medical bills
- Substitute services (ie. childcare and cleaning services)
For PIP to apply, treatment is needed within the first 14 days after a crash. You can still treat and file an injury claim after 14 days, but PIP will simply not apply to your bills.
It’s important to note that PIP insurance doesn’t cover every claim. An example is if any property is damaged as a result of an accident. So, if you were to drive into someone’s mailbox, PIP insurance would not help you pay for the damage.
In that case, property damage liability insurance would need to be in place to provide coverage.
Ready to file a personal injury claim? Contact us today and book your free case evaluation.